Cupcakes by post

I attempted to post cupcakes for the very first time this week. This is something I have been considering for a while. It allows me to have a wider customer base and it also means I can share my new ideas and flavours with my family who live over 200 miles away!

I purchased a Posting Cupcakes guide and kit from Carina’s Cupcakes as a starting point, which provides a clear step by step guide to posting both kinds of cupcakes, buttercream swirls and fondant topped, and gives you the containers and boxes to use.

I decided not to play it safe and made 6 cupcakes with a variety of decorations which would test just how delicate they can be for posting. So here’s the before image:

20130227-111430.jpg

I packaged them up as per instructions and posted them first class Royal Mail on Monday morning to start them on their 200 mile journey. Some people have used other types of postage which are more expensive but I thought I would give the standard parcel service a try.

Good news! The cupcakes arrived the next morning by 8.30am! This is how the box looked:

20130227-112207.jpg

A bit bashed on one corner but the packaging inside cushioned the blow. Once the box was opened and each cake pod was opened there were four cakes in perfect condition, one slightly damaged and one completely broken decoration.

20130227-114649.jpg

The bow had not survived the journey, however the delicate peony only lost one petal! Amazing!

20130227-114809.jpg

Next, the taste test …. They were still very moist, cake cases had not come away from the cakes and they tasted great (not my words, these were the words of my postal guinea pigs).

So, is this a viable business idea? I believe it is. For 6 cupcakes by post, I would charge an additional £6 for p&p, which I think is a fair price. If the customer wants me to use a different postal service, I can, however I will make it clear that the cost would go up.

I would love to hear from anyone else who has tried posting cupcakes. Please let me know about your experience and please share any tips you have.

One thought on “Cupcakes by post

  1. I can testify that the guinea pigs were delighted with the taste of the cakes! They are willing to continue to be your quality control officers in future but request that at least 50% of the products to be tested are lemon drizzle as that is their favourite flavour.

    From the point of view of this guinea pig, I advise trying to post some chocolate ganache topped cakes – just saying.

    In all seriousness though, offering a postal service can only be a good thing for cupcake businesses. There is a risk that very fragile designs may not survive the journey but this can be avoided by advising customers on the most appropriate types of decoration for posting.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

